On This Day...

Madhouse History

On This Day in Madhouse History
May 4, 1973

Yessongs is the first live album by the English rock band Yes, released as a triple album in May 1973 on Atlantic Records.

After completing their Close to the Edge Tour in April 1973, the band selected live recordings between February and December 1972 on their tours supporting Fragile (1971) and Close to the Edge (1972) for a live album release. They were then edited and remixed with their producer and live sound mixer Eddie Offord. Three tracks feature original Yes drummer Bill Bruford while the remaining tracks feature his replacement, Alan White.

Yessongs received a mostly positive reception from music critics, though much of its criticism was directed at its sound quality. However, the album was a commercial success for the band, reaching number 7 on the UK Albums Chart and number 12 on the US Billboard 200.
In September 1971, the Yes line-up of singer Jon Anderson, bassist Chris Squire, drummer Bill Bruford, guitarist Steve Howe, and newcomer keyboardist Rick Wakeman embarked on their Fragile Tour in support of the band's fourth studio album, Fragile (1971). The tour saw the band play across the United Kingdom, the United States, and Europe until March 1972. Following the recording of their fifth studio album, Close to the Edge (1972), the band resumed as a live act on 30 July 1972 to support the album. The tour saw the debut of drummer Alan White in the band after Bruford left when recording for the album had finished. His departure came eleven days prior to the tour's start, leaving White to learn the band's repertoire in three days. The tour ended in April 1973, by which time Yes had made additional live recordings.

Recording locations include Academy of Music in New York City, New York, Ottawa Civic Centre in Ottawa, Ontario, Greeensboro Coliseum in Greensboro, North Carolina, Knoxville Civic Coliseum in Knoxville, Tennessee, Nassau Coliseum in Uniondale, New York and The Rainbow Theatre in Finsbury Park, London. 

The album was originally presented in a gatefold sleeve with artwork designed and illustrated by the band's longtime associate, artist Roger Dean.

Side One
"Opening (Excerpt from 'Firebird Suite')"
"Siberian Khatru"
"Heart of the Sunrise"

Side Two
"Perpetual Change"
"And You and I"

Side Three
"Mood for a Day"
"Excerpts from 'The Six Wives of Henry VIII'"

Side Four
"I've Seen All Good People"
"Long Distance Runaround"

Side Five
"Close to the Edge"

Side Six
"Yours is No Disgrace"
"Starship Trooper"

Share This Article